ITIL® Lifecycle Course - Continual Service Improvement (CSI)

Our classes are always live and instructor led from our Exton, PA or EPIC Partner locations. Springhouse AnywhereLive options require Internet Access. Select classes are Guaranteed to Run (GTR). View our complete schedule policies.






The ITIL Intermediate Qualification: Continual Service Improvement Certificate is part of the ITIL Intermediate Lifecycle stream, and one of the modules that leads to the ITIL Expert in IT Service Management Certificate.

This 3-day course covers the management and control of the activities and techniques within the Continual Service Improvement ("CSI") stage. Successful implementation of CSI best practices enables IT departments to create and maintain value for customers through better design, introduction and operation of services. Students will learn how to plan, implement and optimize the Continual Service Improvement processes and gain the knowledge required to take the ITIL Intermediate Qualification: Continual Service Improvement Certification Exam.

Intended Audience

Individuals who require a detailed understanding of the ITIL Service Transition phase of the ITIL core Lifecycle and how it may be implemented to enhance the quality of IT service provision within an organization. CIOs, CTOs, managers, supervisory staff, team leaders, planners, IT audit managers, IT security managers.

This course is valuable for those who want to achieve the ITIL Intermediate Qualification: Continual Service Improvement.

At Completion

At the end of this 3 day course, the student will gain competencies in:

  • Introduction to Continual Service Improvement
  • Continual Service Improvement Principles
  • Continual Service Improvement Process
  • Continual Service Improvement Methods and Techniques
  • Organization for Continual Service Improvement
  • Technology for Continual Service Improvement
  • Implementation Considerations
  • Critical success factors and risks
  • How all CSI processes interact with other Service Lifecycle processes
  • Apply the 7-step improvement process to enhance service quality
  • Prepare for and take the ITIL Intermediate Qualification: Continual Service Improvement Certification Exam


Students should hold an ITIL v3 Foundation Certificate or ITIL v2 Foundation + v3 Foundation Bridge Certificate. Proof of certification required to sit exam. Before taking the course, it’s recommended (though not required) that candidates have approximately two years exposure to basic concepts in IT and related work experience.

The course materials, lectures, and lab exercises are in English. To benefit fully from our instruction, students need an understanding of the English language and completion of the prerequisites.

Exams & Certifications

To be eligible for the ITIL Intermediate Qualification: Service Transition examination, candidates shall fulfill the following requirements:

•At least 21 contact hours of instruction
•Basic IT literacy or around 2 years of IT experiences is desirable
•Hold the ITIL v3 Foundation Certificate in IT Service Management

Passing score is 70%. Eight (8) multiple choice, scenario based, gradient scored questions. Each question will have 4 possible answer options, one of which is worth 5 marks, one of which is 3 marks, one of which is 1 mark, and one of which is a distracter and achieves no marks. Maximum 90 minutes for all candidates in their respective language.



Course Outline

MODULE 1: Introduction & Overview

Goals & scope of CSI

•Embedding CSI into organizational processes
•Explaining how CSI creates business value
•Illustrating the interfaces to other ITIL lifecycle stages

MODULE 2: Purpose of Service Measurement

•Validating previous decisions
•Directing activities in order to meet set targets
•Justifying that a course of action is required
•Intervening at the appropriate point to take corrective action

MODULE 3: Principles of Continual Service Improvement

Defining ownership and roles

•Manager, service owner, service level manager
•Service level management and measurement

MODULE 4: Predicting and reporting service performance vs. targets

•Using customer satisfaction surveys
•Conducting maturity assessments
•Verifying employee and process compliance
•Employing frameworks and standards

MODULE 5: The 7-Step Im



ITIL® Lifecycle Course - Continual Service Improvement (CSI)® Lifecycle Course - Continual Service Improvement (CSI)

Get More Information




Help us prove you're not a robot:

 ‭(Hidden)‬ Catalog-Item Reuse

Microsoft Gold Partner


AXELOS Limited

The Microsoft Gold CPLS logo is a mark of Microsoft, Inc.

The PMI R.E.P. logo is a mark of the Project Management Institute, Inc.

ITIL® is a registered trade mark of AXELOS Limited.
IT Infrastructure Library® is a registered trade mark of AXELOS Limited
The Swirl logo™ is a registered trade mark of AXELOS Limited
Accredited course material is property of ITSM Academy.

Connect with us

Springhouse Education & Consulting Services

Corporate HQ:Eagleview Corporate Park
707 Eagleview Boulevard
Suite 207
Exton, PA 19341

610-321-3500 -